First language

Discussion in 'Web Programming and Development' started by Sapett, Aug 26, 2015.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Sapett

Sapett New Member

What was the first language you learned to code in?

I learned to code in HTML and Java simultaneously. They were the first two languages I learned. I used them both heavily in my high school class, and again early on in some general education college courses. I have sense taught myself some more advanced concepts using free resources online.

2. Claraviolet

Claraviolet Member

C language.
    Well, I was an ECE student but after learning c, I fell in love with programming.
    So, I changed my branch from ECE to CSE. Now, I know c,c++, java(basic and advanced), html, xml,python..I can go on an on.

3. Alexandoy

Alexandoy Member

I had studied HTML but I used Dreamweaver when I created my first website. It is far easier to make the design with Dreamweaver since all I had to do is to place the contents in the desired location or frame. I don't know if Dreamweaver is still being used now because all I see is Java.

With computer programming, my first language is Assembler for the mainframe, particularly for the IBM System 370. However, I was quite confused so I studied Cobol which is more comfortable. But when I got used to Cobol, I went back to Assembler so I was a dual language programmer.

4. tongxiaoxin

tongxiaoxin Member

I would advise starting with python instead of C, which is highly recommended by many people. The reason for this is because python has many useful 'restrictions' in terms of syntax and as such, will help any beginner to learn the proper way to code. C, on the other hand, offers programmers freedom or more commonly known in our line of field as "trust the programmer".

5. bluegreen

bluegreen Member