Namecheap or godaddy?

Discussion in 'Domain Names' started by Jasmin Cottontail, May 24, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Jasmin Cottontail

Jasmin Cottontail New Member

I plan to get my own domain name and I don't know which of these two companies should I go with. I've checked both of them and compared prices and I can see that GoDaddy offers a cheaper price on it's first year compared to Namecheap. Aside from the pricing comparison, I want to know about their support, security and other important stuffs before deciding which one to get. Thanks!

2. rz3300

rz3300 New Member

I am still a little curious about GoDaddy, and I am pretty sure that I have been telling myself to look more into it for about the last ten years, but never really went ahead and did anything. Maybe the time has finally come.

3. Jasmin Cottontail

Jasmin Cottontail New Member

So were you able to choose a different domain name provider aside from GoDaddy? How about Namecheap? Have you considered using it as an alternative for GoDaddy? I've seen a lot of good reviews from GoDaddy users and there are also a few complaints here and there but still I'm looking for other feedbacks before I decide which one to use.

4. braveyard

braveyard New Member

Base on my experience, I think GoDaddy is a good recommendation for starters with no or minimal experience of domain name. GoDaddy is popular and for that you can simply search or Google the procedures to register your domain name, which I am sure you will have bunch of good writers that have explained it to details. For it is very easy to use and follow and also cheap.

5. GraceB

GraceB New Member

NameCheap all the way. Been with them over five years, and have nothing but good things to say about them.